Getting Here: Travel to Victoria

The University of Victoria is located on the traditional lands of the Songhees, Esquimalt and WSÁNEĆ peoples, whose historical relationships with the land continue to this day. Specifically, it is located on the ancestral land of the Lekwungen family group, Checkonien and Sungayka village. According to Cheryl Bryce of the Songhees Nation, the site “was known for camas harvesting, trading and cultural and spiritual practices.”

Victoria is the capital of British Columbia, Canada, and is located on Vancouver Island, 44km (27 miles) off the coast of mainland British Columbia. The conference will take place on the University of Victoria campus, including the recommended on-campus accommodation in the university’s residences, but a conference hotel will be available in downtown Victoria.

Getting Here: By Air

Victoria International Airport (YYJ) is located approximately 30 minutes from the University of Victoria. Flights arrive daily from across Canada, the US, and Europe. In general, it is most cost efficient and convenient to fly into Victoria (rather than Vancouver or Seattle), unless you are coming from those areas or have other reasons to stop there during your trip.

For getting to and from the airport, we recommend the YYJ Airport Shuttle; you may need to call and confirm a shuttle spot or time. The cost is $25 CAD for one adult; less if you are traveling in a group of two or more. Specific fares and schedules can be found on their website. A taxi to downtown Victoria hotels from the airport will cost approximately 54CAD.

Float plane service is available from Vancouver (Harbour Air) and Seattle (Kenmore Air) to Victoria's Inner Harbour. Helicopter service between Vancouver and Victoria's downtown Inner Harbour is also available (HeliJet).

Getting Here: By Ground

From Vancouver: Pacific Coach offers a bus service between downtown Vancouver, Vancouver Airport and downtown Victoria 3 times/day. This trip involves taking the ferry from Tsawwassen on the mainland to Swartz Bay on Vancouver Island. Once your bus has driven on to the ferry, you are free to wander the ship, get a snack and relax.

BC Transit provides affordable and convenient bus transportation throughout Victoria.

Getting Here: By Sea

There are regular ferries from Vancouver and Seattle to Victoria. For more information, visit BC Ferries or Clipper Ferry. The ferry from Vancouver docks in Swartz Bay, approximately 40 minutes by ground travel from the University or downtown. The Clipper Ferry from Seattle arrives at the Inner Harbour downtown, about 20 minutes by ground from the University.

Plan d’accès

Victoria est la capitale de la Colombie-Britannique (Canada). La ville est située sur l'île de Vancouver, à 44 km au large de la côte continentale de la Colombie-Britannique. La conférence aura lieu sur le campus de l'Université de Victoria. Il existe différentes possibilités pour arriver à Victoria.

En avion

L'aéroport international de Victoria (YYJ) se trouve à environ 30 minutes de l'Université de Victoria. Les vols arrivent quotidiennement de partout au Canada, des États-Unis et de l’Europe. En général, il est plus économique et plus pratique de se rendre à Victoria (plutôt qu'à Vancouver ou à Seattle) sauf si vous venez de ces régions ou si vous avez d'autres raisons de vous y arrêter pendant votre voyage.

Pour se rendre à l'aéroport et en revenir, nous vous recommandons d’utiliser la navette de l’aéroport YYJ. Pour cela, vous pouvez les appeler pour convenir du lieu et de l’heure de ramassage de la navette. Le coût du déplacement s’élève à 25 $ CAN pour un adulte. Cela vous reviendra moins cher si vous voyagez en groupe de deux ou plus. En outre, les tarifs et les horaires spécifiques peuvent être trouvés sur leur site web. Le taxi pour les hôtels situés au centre-ville de Victoria en venant de l'aéroport coûte environ 54 $ CAD.

Un service d'hydravion est disponible de Vancouver (Harbour Air) et de Seattle (Kenmore Air) à Victoria Inner Harbour. Un service d'hélicoptère entre Vancouver et le centre-ville de Inner Harbour est également disponible (HeliJet).

Par voie terrestre

De Vancouver, Pacific Coach offre un service de bus entre le centre-ville de Vancouver, l'aéroport de Vancouver et le centre-ville de Victoria 3 fois par jour. Ce voyage consiste à prendre le traversier de Tsawwassen sur le continent jusqu'à Swartz Bay, sur l'île de Vancouver. Une fois que votre bus vous a conduit jusqu’au ferry, vous pouvez vous balader sur le bateau, prendre une collation et vous détendre.

BC Transit offre un service de transport par autobus abordable et pratique dans tout Victoria.

Par la mer

Il y a régulièrement des traversiers partant de Vancouver et de Seattle pour Victoria. Pour plus d'informations, visitez BC Ferries ou Clipper Ferry. Le traversier de Vancouver est situé sur la baie de Swartz, à environ 40 minutes de l'université ou du centre-ville. Le ferry Clipper de Seattle arrive au centre-ville d'Inner Harbour, à environ 20 minutes en voiture de l'université.